Colorado Democrat Ed Perlmutter tests positive for coronavirus

Colorado Rep. Ed Perlmutter (D) announced Tuesday that he’s tested positive for COVID-19, becoming the latest House lawmaker to be diagnosed with the virus.

Perlmutter said in a statement that he is currently asymptomatic and will isolate in his Washington apartment as he works remotely.

“I’ve been taking precautions like so many Coloradans over the past eight months. This serves as an important reminder that this virus is highly contagious and should be taken seriously. As we enter the holiday season, I encourage everyone to continue to heed the warnings of no personal gatherings, social distancing and wearing a mask,” he said.

The Colorado Democrat marks just the latest in a string of dozens of lawmakers who have been infected with the coronavirus.

Earlier on Tuesday, Sen. Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa) announced he had tested positive.

Others who have been diagnosed with the virus include Reps. Don Young (R-Alaska), Mike Waltz (R-Fla.), Drew Ferguson (R-Ga.) Mike Bost (R-Ill.), Cheri Bustos (D-Ill.), Salud Carbajal (D-Calif.), Rodney Davis (R-Ill.), Mario Diaz-Balart (R-Fla.), Joe Cunningham (D-S.C.), Neal Dunn (R-Fla.), Louie Gohmert (R-Texas), Morgan Griffith (R-Va.), Raúl Grijalva (D-Ariz.), Jahana Hayes (D-Conn.), Mike Kelly (R-Pa.), Ben McAdams (D-Utah), Dan Meuser (R-Pa.), Tom Rice (R-S.C.), Nydia Velázquez (D-N.Y.) and Tim Walberg (R-Mich.), along with GOP Sens. Bill Cassidy (La.), Ron Johnson (Wis.), Mike Lee (Utah), Rand Paul (Ky.) and Thom Tillis (N.C.).

Perlmutter’s diagnosis comes amid a spike in COVID-19 cases across the country. The Capitol’s attending physician launched a new testing program for members and staff on Monday amid the surge to try to ensure that a building that houses employees who travel between Washington, D.C., and their districts across the country is not ravaged by a related flood of infections.

Tags Bill Cassidy Cheri Bustos Chuck Grassley Dan Meuser Don Young Drew Ferguson Ed Perlmutter Jahana Hayes Joe Cunningham Louie Gohmert Mario Diaz-Balart Mike Bost Mike Kelly Mike Lee Morgan Griffith Neal Dunn Rand Paul Rodney Davis Ron Johnson Salud Carbajal Thom Tillis Tim Walberg Tom Rice

Copyright 2023 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. Regular the hill posts

See all Hill.TV See all Video

main area bottom custom html

MAIN Area bottom

Main area bottom

Top Stories

See All

Most Popular

Load more