Cuomo extends New York’s stay at home order through May 28, as 5 regions of state reopen

New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo (D) on Thursday extended the state’s stay-at-home order until at least May 28, unless areas meet designated conditions to begin reopening amid the coronavirus pandemic.  

In an executive order, Cuomo said five regions of the state have met the conditions and can begin the first phase of reopening Friday: Central New York, North Country, Finger Lakes, Southern Tier and Mohawk Valley.

The state’s disaster emergency declaration was also extended to June 13, according to ABC7.

In order for a region to open, it must have at least 14 days of decline in total hospitalizations and deaths on a three-day rolling average, fewer than two new COVID-19 patients per 100,000 residents per day and hospitals with a 90-day stockpile of personal protective equipment for health care workers, among other conditions, according to CBS New York.

New York City still must meet three of the benchmarks, and the Mid-Hudson Valley is missing two, the outlet reported.

Beginning Friday under the first phase of the state’s reopening plan, construction; agriculture industries and forestry, fishing and hunting; retail for curbside or in-store pickup or drop off; manufacturing; and wholesale trade may continue, according to Cuomo’s office.

New York has been the epicenter of the coronavirus pandemic in the United States. The state has seen at least 348,192 cases of the virus and 27,617 fatalities, The New York Times reported.

Correction: This story was updated Friday at 2:37 p.m. to correct the date of the stay-at-home order extension.

Tags Andrew Cuomo Coronavirus economy New York reopening stay-at-home

Copyright 2023 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. Regular the hill posts

More News News

See All

main area bottom custom html

MAIN Area bottom

Main area bottom

Most Popular

Load more